top of page
Search

What is a life? How is it measured?

Updated: Jun 6, 2022





Over the past few months, I've been contemplating a couple of things.. One is the writing of Bill's epitaph, to install at his graveside. I feel the enormity of the task; how do you condense any life, let alone the life of the extraordinary Bill Walsh, into a couple of lines on a brass plaque? It got me thinking; and so this website is expanding to include photos and other bits and bobs.. I don’t know if anyone else is interested, and maybe no-one will come visit, but I deeply feel the need to continue his legacy; to be his voice in the world keeping his memory alive. I don’t want anyone to forget him; to forget the impact he had on them, and to keep shouting about what an incredible human he was.


So I have created a gallery of all the photos I have of him. I did collect quite a few while preparing for his funeral. I have decided to write a book about us too; there, I’ve said it. Now I have to do it! If I’m game enough, I may publish excerpts to see how you like it.. and to get feedback. I’ve not started because of fear of getting it wrong, or that it won’t be good enough, but maybe I just need to write it for myself and none of you will ever get to read it!



I know he touched the lives of many and those who knew him have been forever changed by being in his orbit. I’m starting to sound like he was some sort of god, or guru. Ha! He totally hated that idea. The irony is, that is the very reason he was so extraordinary. He had no illusions about his own flaws, and that no-one was to be elevated or seen as wiser than another. He faced life full on- in total honesty and authenticity, including being wrong sometimes, infuriating people many times, showing his anger and his sensitivity and everything in between.


It is these qualities that I am keen to highlight; to encourage, and to foster in the world.


Bill was fearless, even in the face of death. I was so privileged to have been in his orbit for his final journey towards it. Many of you might think I’m a little unhinged talking about this, but I know he came to Mt Beauty to find me, so that we could walk that road together; it was a soul-contract made in the stars. I cannot wait to meet with him again, to celebrate what we did, and discover what’s next for us.


Back to the epitaph; what I’m going to do is create a QR code, and place it at his graveside. The human Bill would laugh uproariously at this, but I have some inside information that gives me confidence that this is OK. Besides, what can he do about it?!! This is more for me, and for you, than him now, anyway.


If you happen to go visit him in Keilor Cemetery, you will find this code. Go on, I dare you! But give me few months to get it organised!


Thank you for continuing on this path with me. It helps.

bottom of page